Cake Hack – round 2!

You may remember a blog post a couple months ago where I took a cake from Sobeys and transformed it into a much prettier cake.

Here’s a different take on that method. Instead of just using the icing provided on the cake (whipped topping), I purchased some buttercream from Sobeys to give the cake a little ~extra~.

Start with an ugly cake from Sobeys (I forgot to take the picture before I scraped the ugly trim off)

img_7117

Next, scrape off all the icing (or in this case, whipped topping).

img_7119

Add buttercream in whatever colour you’d like. I decided to stick with white.

img_7121

Sprinkle those sides, because this cake will not be as level as you’d like. It’s easy to distract people with sprinkles.

img_7123

img_7122

Colour some more buttercream and pipe out a nice trim. I decided to go with little blobs.

img_7130

You’re almost there! Decorate the middle however you’d like. I was decorating this cake for a dear friend. So, I opted for a monster face to match her personality.

img_7127

Voilà! You are done. 🙂

Leave a Reply

