Simple Comforts

Sometimes you have a bad day—or a bad week.

It’s okay, we all have them.

I’m not going to lie, this past week was rough for me. I have taken on a lot of extra work, and it’s starting to catch up with me.

Don’t feel bad for me, I’m managing, and I can get through it, but sometimes you need someone to help.

This week, help arrived in the form of a banana muffin.

I was on my third day of little to no sleep, and I came home after another 16 hour day to my mom baking banana muffins.

The smell was intoxicating.

It was late, and I needed to be at school for 8 a.m. the next morning, so I went to bed without having a muffin.

But as I lay there thinking about how early I needed to be up to get all my stuff together, I was comforted by the thought of a banana muffin in the morning.

Here’s our recipe for simple banana muffins:

Ingredients

  • 3 overripe bananas
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 1/2 cups flour
  • 1/3 cup melted butter
  • chocolate chips (totally optional, but they add to the comfort factor)

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350ºF and prepare muffin pan with muffin liners.
  2. Mash your bananas with a fork or potato masher.
  3. Beat your one egg and add it to the mashed bananas with the sugar.
  4. Melt your butter and add it to the mixture. Stir.
  5. Sift and stir in dry ingredients.
  6. Pour batter into the muffin liners.
  7. Bake for about 18-20 minutes or until an inserted toothpick comes out clean.

 

Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

