Brownie Points

Okay, so hear me out. I have a thought, and I think it makes a lot of sense. I am here to propose that brownies are the bacon of the sweets world.

They are not only freaking delicious on their own, but can be a vessel for all sorts of other wonderful flavours. Brownie bowls filled with ice cream, anyone? Cheesecake brownies for when you’re feeling ~fancy~? Cookie dough brownies for days when you just need as much sugar as possible? S’mores brownies. Turtle brownies. Oreo brownies. And, for those of you who aren’t allergic to peanuts, I’m sure peanut butter brownies are ah-mazing.

I could go on, but I’m starting to sound like Bubba from Forest Gump, so I’ll spare you the rest of the list.

You get the idea though, right? Brownies can enhance *most* other desserts.

So, don’t ruin it. Step away from that boxed brownie mix.

Would you wrap a filet mignon in microwave bacon? No. So don’t short yourself by making brownies from a box. Take the extra time (IT DOESN’T TAKE LONG AT ALL), to make something special.

Here’s my personal favourite recipe that I’ve been making for YEARS. I spent a whole day researching different brownie recipes, and made this one according to how I like my brownies to turn out. Soft, and fudgy, with a nice chewy edge. Use it as a base for any type of brownie you’d like!

I hope you enjoy!

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil or melted butter/margarine
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/3 cup cocoa powder
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 3/4 cup chocolate chips (optional)

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350°F.
  2. Grease a 9″x9″ pan, and put a layer of parchment at the bottom.
  3. In a medium bowl, mix together oil, sugar, and vanilla.
  4. Whisk eggs in a separate bowl and add them to the oil and sugar mix.
  5. In another bowl, stir dry ingredients together.
  6. Start incorporating the dry ingredients into the wet a little at a time, until smooth.
  7. Spread batter in pan (it will be pretty thick), and bake for 20-25 minutes or until the edges pull away from the sides of the pan. (You can also use the old toothpick method to test them out)
  8. Let it cool and add your favourite frosting.
Leave a Reply

