No Dipping Necessary

Hello friends!

When I go out to a restaurant, the Spinach Dip is often calling my name. Usually I ignore it, and go straight for the wings. BUT if we order a bunch of appetizers, you best believe that I’m all over that dip.

I saw a post on Pinterest that featured a Spinach and Artichoke Dip stuffed Baguette. It’s exactly what it sounds like. A baguette stuffed with Spinach and Artichoke dip.

It being a colder evening, I figured I’d treat my family to some warm cheesy bread.

There was no recipe to be found on the Pinterest post which made me very confused, because not following the directions has only brought me troubles. (See Ombr-oh no.)

The post had a bunch of photos, so I tried to figure it out from there.

The first step was the thaw some frozen spinach.

I’ve only known spinach to be frozen in one method. In a block. In the grocery store, I only found a bag of spinach and when I felt it, I could feel clumps of something. I bought it anyway.

Turns out, this spinach was packages into pucks? I’m not really sure what to call these things.IMG_2267

So I tossed those in the microwave and put it on low, trying to transform them into a more workable state.(I used about 12 blocks)

Next, I opened canned artichoke hearts, and tossed them in with the spinach.

IMG_2269

TURNS OUT you need to chop these bad boys up, because they don’t mix as well as the Pinterest post pictures might suggest.

So, chop them up.

IMG_2270

Alright, set that aside.

Next, you want to put a block of cream cheese in a separate bowl. Spread it around and make sure it’s workable. You don’t want clumps of cheese–or maybe you do. I just wanted to make sure it was a good consistency to mix with.

IMG_2271

Next, MORE CHEESE!

I grated about a cup of mozzarella. Add that to the cream cheese, and mix it. Also add around two tsp of garlic powder.

IMG_2272

Okay, set that aside too.

Next, you’re going to hollow out the centre of a baguette. First, cut it into three segments. After that, use the knife to carefully cut the inside out. I used a spoon to help scrape it out once I got all the big chunks.

IMG_2273

IMG_2274

Yay!

Next, mix your cheese together with the spinach and artichokes. The water that is in the spinach should help it to mix together nicely.

Use your dip and shove it into the baguettes! I had just enough dip to fill up my three segments.

The next step it to line them all up together and cut it into smaller slices.

IMG_2276

Now if this isn’t enough, you can make the outside of your baguette taste like heaven.

Melt some butter, add garlic powder and some chopped parsley. Congratulations! You’ve made a sauce to pour ALL OVER your baguette! (After you’ve laid it out on some foil)

Mmmmmmmm.

Wrap it up in your foil and toss it in a 350ºF oven for about 30 minutes.

IMG_2281IMG_2283

Let it sit for a couple minutes (if you can stand it), to let it cool off.

IMG_2285

The idea of this is super neat. I have to give it props. However, the dip inside wasn’t the best spinach artichoke dip in the world. I think if I were to do this again, I would find another dip with more flavour. This one just tasted like spinach and cheese. (Which is what it was…)

The OUTSIDE of the baguette was delicious. Maybe I’ll just skip the dip next time, and soak a baguette in that elixir of the gods.

Cheers!

Hailey

 

Leave a Reply

