Chicken IN Waffles!

Hey friends!

Last week I set you out on the task to find a “Tasty” recipe for me to try. I wasn’t disappointed! I got suggestions for pumpkin seeds, pizza bread sauce, and others. HOWEVER, one really stood out to me.

You’ve probably heard of chicken and waffles…right?

giphy

Hahahahahahahahaha. Okay no, more like this.

It’s a super delicious combination of savoury and sweet.

Anyway, last week I decided I wanted to try out one of those “Tasty” recipes because they look super easy. Almost too easy.

skeptical-gif_2

So here’s the original video that I had to work with, and the recipe was posted in the comments on their Facebook page.

Easy enough!

So to get started, you cut up the chicken and season it with salt, black pepper, and cayenne pepper. BUT HOLD UP. Did you see how large that chicken breast was in the video??

Where did that chicken grow up?

12191151_10201082233093639_748466337175023971_o

Actual painting of the chicken’s grandfather.

Okay, enough jokes.

If you watched the video, you’ll know what you need! I’ll post the recipe at the end of this post after a quick review of how things went and how it tastes! Here we goooooooo!

IMG_1686

IMG_1688

IMG_1694

IMG_1697

IMG_1699

IMG_1701

IMG_1703

IMG_1706

Okay you guys, I’m really bad at describing how food tastes, but I’ll try. These tasted like there was chicken in the middle of a waffle.

See? I told you I was bad at this. Let’s try again. The waffle itself was super delicious. Just a typical waffle recipe, but definitely a keeper and the perfect base for the chicken.

The chicken. Oh, the chicken. Let’s think back to that video. I think we can all agree that “Tasty” hunted down the biggest chicken in the world and stole it’s breast. The chicken I used was probably about half the size. SO, when the recipe called for 1 tsp of cayenne pepper, I should have tried to at least half that amount. But, alas, I did not.

Thankfully for me, I can handle a bit of heat. (I can hear my mom laughing from here…she thinks I’m a…chicken (hah) when it comes to heat. But, just because you, MOM, use Frank’s Red Hot as your contact solution, doesn’t mean the rest of us are up to your standards)

Back to the cayenne. It was JUST the right amount of kick for my taste, so if you are not a fan of all things spicy, definitely consider putting less if you, like me, didn’t go on an adventure to find the largest chicken in the world.

Anyway.

The recipe was super easy to follow, and watching the video really helped. So that gets a pass, because seeing how to do things is so much easier than reading about how to do things.

Also, I was super nervous about just throwing raw chicken into waffle batter…because bacteria. BUT, I DO THESE THINGS FOR YOU. Thankfully, the chicken cooked all the way through in the 10 minutes on the lowest setting, so I was feeling pretty good about it, and the waffles turned out a nice golden colour.

OH, I almost forgot. I totally didn’t make the sauce it tells you to. Instead, I opted for plain pancake syrup. AND IT WAS DELICIOUS. So definitely do that if you mess up and put too much cayenne, because it’ll cut the heat just a little bit.

So, Tasty, you live to see another day in my books. The recipe was easy to follow, and the results were delicious. That’s the point, right?

TASTY!

Okay, here’s the recipe as promised 🙂

Chicken Ingredients:

  • 1 chicken breast, cut into bite-sized pieces
  • 1 tsp of salt
  • 1 tsp of pepper
  • 1 tsp of cayenne pepper

Prepare the chicken, season and set aside.

Waffle Ingredients:

  • 1 egg
  • 3/4 cup whole milk
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 2 1/2 Tbsp. oil
  • 1 cup of flour
  • 1/2 Tbsp. baking powder
  • 1 Tbsp. sugar
  • pinch of salt

Combine the wet ingredients in a mixing bowl. In another mixing bowl, sift together the dry ingredients. Add the wet to the dry and mix until smooth. Add the seasoned chicken to the waffle batter. Make sure the chicken is coated in the batter. Heat your waffle iron on the lowest setting. Spoon a piece of chicken and additional batter into each section. Cook on the lowest setting for approximately 10 minutes.

Enjoy!

Alright guys, I hope all of your chicken in waffle endeavours are successful!

Cheers!

Hailey

Leave a Reply

