Cheesecake Swirl Pumpkin Pie

Hey beautiful people!

Happy Thanksgiving!

Just wanted to say that I’m super thankful for all of you wonderful people in my life! Thanks for reading every week, and giving me feedback and ideas for future posts. In my last post I said that apple has my vote for fall time desserts. Well…I’ve changed my mind back to pumpkin! Here’s why!

I had my Thanksgiving dinner last night with my family and I was given the task of making the pumpkin pie. I wanted to break away from the typical pumpkin pie, and jazz it up a bit.

My friend Leah posted this picture on Instagram, and I was inspired to make something similar. Leah opted for a sour cream swirl which turned out super beautiful.

It's that baking time of year again… ­čśŹ #thanksgiving #pumpkinpie

A post shared by leah.reanne (@leah.reanne) on

Initially, I thought she had done a cheesecake swirl, so that’s what I ended up doing with mine. It turned out really delicious and got rave reviews from my family, so I decided to share it with you!

Here’s the recipe. I hope you enjoy!


Ingredients

For the Pumpkin Pie:

  • 1 ┬á14-oz can of pumpkin puree
  • 1 ┬á300 mL (~10 oz) can of sweetened condensed milk
  • 2 ┬álarge eggs
  • 1 ┬átsp cinnamon
  • 1 ┬átsp pumpkin pie spice
  • 1/2 ┬átsp salt
  • 2 ┬áunbaked 9-inch pie shells (homemade or store-bought)

For the Cheesecake Swirl:

  • 1 ┬ápackage cream cheese (room temperature)
  • 1 ┬álarge egg
  • 1/4 ┬ácup of sugar
  • 1/4 ┬átsp vanilla extract

Directions

  1. Preheat your oven to 400┬║F.
  2. With a fork, poke holes in the bottom of your pie shells. This will ensure that they shells won’t bubble up.
  3. In a large bowl whisk pumpkin, sweetened condensed milk, eggs, cinnamon, pumpkin pie spice, and salt together until smooth.
  4. Divide the batter between the two pie shells and set aside.
  5. In another bowl use a hand-held electric mixer to combine the cream cheese, egg, sugar and vanilla extract.
  6. Take spoonfuls of your cheesecake batter and drop them into your pumpkin pies. Use a knife to create a swirl pattern.
  7. Make two rings out of tinfoil to cover the outer edges of your pie shells. This will help to keep them from getting too dark.
  8. Put both pies into the oven for 15 minutes. After the 15 minutes is up, reduce the heat the 350┬░F. Bake for another 30 minutes. Take the tinfoil rings off the outer edges. Bake for another 5 minutes.
  9. Insert a knife into the pies about an inch from the outer edge, and if it comes out clean, then your pie is done!
  10. Allow your pies to cool. When serving garnish with a dollop of whipped cream or whipped topping!

Here is my pie. It is not very pretty (don’t tell it I told you that), but IT TASTES AMAZING.

IMG_1594

I thought that apple was my new favourite for the fall season, but pumpkin has won its way back into my heart. I hope everyone had a great long weekend!

Cheers!

Hailey

Leave a Reply

