Apple Roses?

It’s almost Thanksgiving!

200-1

I love Thanksgiving.

I love the food, and I love getting together with my family. This week, I wanted to find something Thanksgiving themed to do for you. I found a recipe for “apple roses” and they look SO COOL.

The idea is that you cut some apples into really thin slices and roll them together with pre-made crescent roll dough and some apricot preserves. Seem’s pretty easy, right? Maybe…

So I stopped at the grocery store on my way home from school and purchased my ingredients.

For this recipe we’ll need:
  • One tube of pre-made crescent roll dough
  • 2 apples (I used Gala apples)
  • lemon juice from 1/2 a lemon
  • 3 Tbsp of Apricot Preserves *****I couldn’t find preserves, so I bought Apricot, Peach, and Passionfruit Jam instead (YUM!)

IMG_1462

Preheat your oven to 400°F!

The first step in my adventure was to cut the apples up. You start with cutting the apples in half (after washing of course), then you take the core out. Next you cut the top and bottom sides off. After that, you slice it really thin! They need to be thin enough to roll. If they are too thick, the apples will break instead of rolling. Check out the next couple of pictures to see what I’m talking about.

IMG_1465

IMG_1467

IMG_1470

IMG_1472

As you can see, I’m not that great at cutting very thin slices. You can see a couple fat ones, but just use the ones that you think will roll. You don’t need ALL of these slices, and if you have leftovers you can just snack on them later.

Once you have all the apples cut up, grab a bowl and fill it about halfway with water. Squeeze half a lemon in that bad boy, pick out the seeds, throw the apple slices in, and pop it in the microwave for three minutes. After the three minutes are up, you should strain the water out of the apples.

IMG_1475

Next put your apricot preserves–or jam–in a separate bowl with 2 Tbsp of water, and microwave that for one minute. After that comes out of the microwave, stir it and set it aside. You will want it to cool and set up a little bit. (I didn’t do this step, but we’ll get to that in a bit.)

Grab your tube of fun, and open that sucker up!

IMG_1477

Sprinkle your cutting board, or whatever surface you are using, with flour to make sure the dough won’t stick. Roll the dough out, and cut it into six uniform–or not–strips. I used a pizza cutter to try to make it a bit easier.

IMG_1480

The next few steps are a little hard to describe, but I’ll do my best to describe what I was thinking/feeling when it was going down. I’ll list the steps I took in point form, and then show you the pictures. PLEASE learn from my mistakes.

  • Start to spread your apricot jam & water concoction on one of the crescent roll dough strips
  • Realize that the apricot jam & water concoction is far too thin
  • Have a small freak out, and add more apricot jam to your already existing soup
  • Notice that you’ve somehow drowned your dough strip in sticky orange soup
  • Stare at it in dismay for a little while
  • Decide that it’s “good enough,” and continue
  • Carefully lay out apples along one side of your dough strip, with the peel side out, so it looks like the strip has a scalloped edge
  • Line the apple slices up so the flat edge reaches to about the centre of your dough strip
  • Realize that your apples are still soaking wet
  • Stare down at your sad, soggy dough strip and contemplate quitting
  • Continue anyway
  • Fold the dough over the flat edge of the apples
  • Start to worry even more when the apricot soup seeps out from its intended home
  • Continue anyway
  • Start to roll the apple/crescent roll dough/sticky orange soup strip
  • Realize one of your apple slices is too thick when it breaks in half
  • Pull fat apple slice out of its home, and throw it across the island
  • Find a thinner apple slice and shove it into place
  • Realize that you’re fat shaming apple slices, apologize, and eat said fat apple slice to give it a purpose in life
  • Continue to roll your soggy mess
  • Realize that it doesn’t look half bad
  • Carefully transfer your sticky roll to a muffin tin that has been sprayed with cooking spray already
  • Stare down at the roll in utter shock and smile because it actually looks like a rose
  • Repeat 5 more times

IMG_1481

IMG_1482

IMG_1483

IMG_1484

IMG_1485

IMG_1486

Some of them actually turned out pretty nice.

IMG_1490

BUT some of them turned out SO UGLY. OOPS.

IMG_1489

Throw them in the oven for 25 minutes, and pray that they turn out. They were SO wet and soggy, and I was worried that I had compromised the integrity of the dough. Therefore, I spent my 25 minutes agonizing over the sad little roses blooming under the heat of my oven. HEY GUYS!

IMG_1492

Pull your buds (HAHA) out of the oven.

IMG_1494

SUCCESS!!!!!!

They actually turned out pretty awesome. They look appealing, and definitely remind me of Thanksgiving flavours. Move aside pumpkin, apple has my vote for fall time desserts.

IMG_1501

Oh yeah, they taste pretty good too 🙂

Cheers!

Hailey

5 thoughts on “Apple Roses?

    • Hailey Gajadhar says:

      I thought so too! I just had to try it for myself! Let me know how it goes for you. Hopefully you can learn from my mistakes!

      Like

  1. drgranger14 says:

    I can’t stop thinking about these!! I’m going to try and make them this weekend and see how i goes! Yours turned out great and they look amazing! Thanks so much for sharing all the steps with pictures and making it feel super relatable (I’m the worst cook/baker ever. I’m really only good at eating).

    Like

    • Hailey Gajadhar says:

      I’m glad you felt that this was relatable! Hopefully you can learn from all my mistakes! Although, they seem to turn out okay if you make a bunch of mistakes anyway! Perfect for Thanksgiving weekend to impress other people. Or just yourself. I’m not here to judge.

      Like

Leave a Reply

