DIY Bleach Spray T-Shirt

Hey Everyone!

This week I wanted to find a crafty DIY project to do for you, my lovely readers. I searched and searched and didn’t find anything cool. I let a couple days go by and came up with a great idea. I went to the AC/DC concert last night, so I used that as my inspiration to make a t-shirt to wear to the concert.

I found a really cool DIY project using bleach and an old t-shirt. You just had to cut your design out of freezer paper (I didn’t have any, so I had to improvise), and lay it out on the t-shirt, then spray the shirt with bleach. I think it turned out pretty well, so here are the steps that I followed.

First I printed out the design I wanted, and cut all the letters out.

IMG_1101

Next, I put clear packing tape over the letters so the bleach would not soak through and ruin the design.

IMG_1102

After that, I set up my workstation. I covered my island in plastic, and covered that again in paper.

IMG_1105

Following the instructions, I put cardboard inside the shirt so the bleach wouldn’t get on the other side. I laid the letters out and taped them down, and started spraying it with a bleach-filled spray bottle.

IMG_1108

The bleach started working right away.

IMG_1110

IMG_1111

I peeled the letters off (wearing gloves), to see if the packing tape did the trick.

IMG_1112

By this time I was happy with how much the t-shirt was faded. I popped it in the wash right away, and hoped for the best. Waiting for this thing to wash was the hardest part. I kept imagining myself pulling a sad, faded t-shirt out of the wash. To my utter disbelief, it actually worked! I laid the t-shirt out to dry, and this was the outcome.

IMG_1115

Pretty cool, don’t you think? There were a couple of imperfections in the letters, and in the bottom left corner of the t-shirt, but I think they give it some character.

IMG_1119

I think this is definitely a win! I love the way this shirt turned out, and I’ll probably be wearing it often. Maybe I’ll even make one for all the concerts I go to! Thanks for reading! I’ll see you guys next week!

IMG_1117

The concert was AMAZING, for those of you who were wondering.

Cheers!

Hailey

2 thoughts on “DIY Bleach Spray T-Shirt

Leave a Reply

