Two-Ingredient Cupcakes

Hey Readers!

I was searching Pinterest trying to find something Pinteresting to make/create for my first official blog post when I happened upon a recipe claiming to make cupcakes with only two ingredients.

As a self-proclaimed cupcake fiend, I decided that this would be a cool pin to try out first. How could you possibly make little cups of deliciousness out of only two ingredients? Let’s find out if this works.

The recipe calls for:

  • one box of Duncan Hines Spice cake mix
  • one 15oz can of pumpkin puree

Cake mix and pumpkin

The only can of pumpkin puree I could find was quite large so I had to measure out the proper amount for the recipe.

IMG_0986

Next, I added the puree to the boxed cake mix.

IMG_0993

Then I stirred it all together and started to get more and more confused as I continued to stir. The batter was so thick and I was sure that I had measured out the wrong amount of pumpkin puree. I like to think that I’m pretty good at baking cakes and cupcakes and this batter looked nothing like what I’m used to seeing.

IMG_0997

I ended up using my ice cream scoop to make sure that all my cupcakes would be even and round. I was worried the cupcakes would turn out like sad lumps if I didn’t at least try to make them look uniform.

IMG_1003

The instructions said to bake for 18-22 minutes at 350℉ so I tossed them in the oven and hoped for the best. 18 minutes of self-doubt later, I pulled the cupcakes out of the oven. I poked a toothpick into one of the cupcakes and it came out clean, so I let the little guys rest for a bit.

IMG_1013

The recipe didn’t give a frosting recipe, so I took it upon myself to turn these muffins posing as cupcakes into real cupcakes. To me, pumpkin belongs with cinnamon–maybe that has something to do with pumpkin spiced lattes. So I found a recipe for a quick cinnamon cream cheese frosting, and piled that on top.

IMG_1021

I think they turned out pretty well. They certainly look nice, but I would not classify this as a cupcake. The cake part is pretty dense like a bread, but it has great flavour and satisfies the sweet tooth. I’d definitely suggest this to people who are looking for something easy to make. You really can’t go wrong with only two ingredients!

3 thoughts on “Two-Ingredient Cupcakes

  1. steflasuik says:

    I love this! For a terrible baker like me, this is perfect! And fall, with all its pumpkin-y goodness, is right around the corner. I sincerely hope you have some left for school tomorrow! Great job with the frosting by the way, it looks professional.

    Like

Leave a Reply

